College Excellence Program

2013 Finalist Selection Committee

Former community college presidents and faculty, along with respected researchers and policy experts, will review extensive data and applications for each eligible community college to select a set of finalists. We greatly appreciate the careful consideration provided by the Finalist Selection Committee members:

  • Dr. Elaine Baker, Community College of Denver
  • Dr. Keith Bird, Corporation for a Skilled Workforce
  • Dr. George R. Boggs, American Association of Community Colleges (emeritus)
  • Dr. Shanna Smith Jaggars, Community College Research Center, Columbia University
  • Dr. Robert Johnstone, Research & Planning Group for California Community Colleges
  • Amy Laitinen, New America Foundation
  • Dr. Nan Poppe, Consultant
  • Dr. Sara Goldrick-Rab, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Deborah Santiago, Excelencia in Education
  • Nancy Shulock, Institute for Higher Education Leadership and Policy, California State University, Sacramento
  • Dr. Nicole Smith, Georgetown University Center on Education and the Workforce
  • Dr. Gregory Stoup, Research & Planning Group for California Community Colleges
  • Dr. Heather Wathington, University of Virginia
  • Jane Wellman, National Association of System Heads

Affiliations of Finalist Selection Committee members listed solely for purposes of identification, and do not reflect organizational endorsement of the Aspen Prize.