Aspen Global Health and Development

HWM Innovation Award

The Health Worker Migration Policy Council Innovation Award celebrates progress made by countries working to address the challenges of health worker migration. This highly competitive, non-monetary award honors innovative and scalable approaches in support of the WHO Global Code’s Guiding Principles and in accelerating progress toward solutions to health worker migration by addressing the seven WHO Global Code implementation recommendations. 

The Health Worker Migration Policy Council has opened the nomination period for the 2014 Innovation Awards as of January 31, 2014. Nominations are due on March 15, 2014, when they will be reviewed by the Council, who will select two winners: one sending country and one receiving country who have implemented policies that uphold at least two of the ethical norms laid out by the WHO Code of Practice. Winners will be notified in April 2014. Representatives from the winning countries will be invited to speak to their country's achievements at an Innovation Awards Ceremony to be held during the 2014 World Health Assembly in Geneva in May. 

To learn more about the award or submit a nomination, read on:

The Problem
What We Are Looking For
How to Apply 

Or download the brochure. Read about the 2012 winners and the inaugural 2012 Innovation Award Ceremony as well as the 2013 winners and the 2013 Innovation Award Ceremony to learn more.