Harman-Eisner Artist in Residence Program

The Harman-Eisner Artist in Residence Program was launched in July 2006 with the support of Dr. Sidney Harman, the late businessman and philanthropist, and Michael Eisner, Founder of the Tornante Company and former Chairman and CEO of The Walt Disney Company.

Through the Harman-Eisner Residency, creative icons and innovators from a variety of disciplines bring their unique perspectives to The Aspen Institute’s ongoing “Great Conversation.”  Drawing on the Institute’s long established convening power and association with ideas, values and leadership, the Arts Program features its Artists in Residence in inspirational and educational discussions rooted in arts and culture spanning a host of topics and issues.

The Residency traditionally kicks off at the annual Aspen Ideas Festival and continues throughout the year, with additional programming in Aspen, New York, and Washington, DC. The Current Artist in Residence is Frank Gehry. Previous Harman-Eisner Artists in Residence include Ava DuVernay, Jeff Koons, Renée Fleming, Theaster Gates, Goldie Hawn, Lil Buck, Alfre Woodard, Yo-Yo Ma, Julie Taymor, and former Arts Program Director Damian Woetzel.

Support Our Work

Contribute to advance and expand the work of the Aspen Institute. Your support is tax deductible to the extent allowed by law.

Contribute Today

Keep in touch