AHSG Membership and Staff


sebelius150Kathleen Sebelius, 21st U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services (2009-2014); former Governor, State of Kansas (2003-2009)
Kathleen Sebelius is an expert on health policy, health care reform, human service delivery, and executive leadership. She served as secretary of the US Department of Health and Human Services from 2009 to 2014, leading President Obama’s charge to pass and implement the Affordable Care Act. Sebelius serves on the boards of Grand Rounds Inc., Hampton Creek Inc., and Humacyte Inc., and she is a senior advisor to Enhanced Pharma, and Out Leadership. From 2003 to 2009, Sebelius served as governor of Kansas. During her career, Sebelius has led numerous efforts on early childhood initiatives, women’s health, tobacco control, mental health parity, HIV/AIDS, polio, prevention of chronic diseases, and global health security.

William Frist, U.S. Senator (TN) (1994-2006); U.S. Senate Majority Leader (2003-2007)
William Frist is a nationally recognized heart and lung transplant surgeon, former US Senate Majority Leader, founding partner of Frist Cressey Ventures and special partner of the health service investment firm Cressey & Company. His leadership was instrumental in the passage of the 2003 Medicare Modernization Act that established Medicare Advantage, and the historic PEPFAR legislation that has provided life-saving treatment globally to 20 million people. He is Co-Chair of the Bipartisan Policy Center’s Health Project and serves on the boards of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, The Nature Conservancy, and publicly traded companies Select Medical, Teladoc Health, Accolade, Smile Direct Club, and GS Acquisitions Holdings Corp II. Senator Frist has honorary degrees from five historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs).


Marcia Angell, Senior Lecturer on Social Medicine, Harvard Medical School; former Editor-in-Chief, New England Journal of Medicine

Rich Baron, President and CEO, American Board of Internal Medicine

Richard Besser, President and CEO, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Gail K. Boudreaux, President and CEO, Anthem, Inc.

Dena Bravata, Healthcare Entrepreneur, Co-founder and Former CMO, Lyra Health

Toby Cosgrove, Executive Advisor and Former CEO and President, Cleveland Clinic; Executive Adviser to Google Cloud Healthcare and Life Sciences

Susan DeVore, CEO, Premier Inc.

Deborah DiSanzo, President, Best Buy Health

Victor Dzau, President, National Academy of Medicine

Judy Faulkner, Founder and CEO, EPIC Systems

David Feinberg, Vice President Healthcare, Google

Harvey Fineberg, President, Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation

Helene Gayle, President and CEO, The Chicago Community Trust

Paul Ginsburg, Professor of Health Policy, Sol Price School of Public Policy, University of Southern California; Director of Public Policy, USC Schaeffer Center for Health Policy and Economics; Vice Chair, Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC)

Ai-jen Poo, Co-founder and Executive Director, National Domestic Workers Alliance; Co-founder and Director, Caring Across Generations

David J. Skorton, President and CEO, Association of Amerian Medical Colleges

Jeff Thompson, Executive Advisor and CEO Emeritus, Gundersen Health System

Antonia Villarruel, Dean, University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing


Alex M. Azar, 24th U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services (2018-2021)

Sylvia Mathews Burwell, President, American University, 22nd U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services (2014-2017)

Michael O. Leavitt, Founder and Chairman, Leavitt Partners; 20th U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services (2005-2009)

Tommy G. Thompson, Interim President, University of Wisconsin System; 19th U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services (2001-2005)

Donna Shalala, University of Miami Board of Trustees Presidential Chair and professor emerita, University of Miami Herbert Business School; 18th U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services (1993-2001)

Louis Sullivan, President Emeritus, Morehouse School of Medicine; Chairman, Sullivan Alliance; Chairman, National Health Museum; 17th U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services (1989-1993)

David Mathews, President and CEO, Kettering Foundation; 11th U.S. Secretary of Health, Education and Welfare (1975-1977)