Who We Are

Composed of leaders from education, science, government, and the private sector, the Commission reflects a wide range of perspectives and experiences. It is led by co-chairs Linda Darling Hammond, President and CEO of the Learning Policy Institute and Charles E. Ducommun Professor Emeritus at Stanford University; Tim Shriver, Co-Founder and Chair of the Collaborative for Academic, Social, and Emotional Learning (CASEL) and Chairman of the Special Olympics; and Jorge Benitez, Former CEO of Accenture North America.

The Commission is committed to an inclusive and deliberative learning journey that meaningfully involves individuals with diverse viewpoints. Through field hearings, site visits, and expert testimony, the Commission will hear directly from those engaged in this work. Additionally, the Commission will be informed by Councils of Distinguished Scientists and Educators, a Youth Commission, a Parent Advisory Panel, and others.

See Commissioners and other National Commission team members and read their biographies below. 

The Commission sunsets on March 15, 2019. After that time, please contact howlearninghappens@americaspromise.org for Commission-related inquiries or comments.

Twitter_Social_Icon_Circle_Color     app-icon2