Thanking AEFI's Project Donors

In a show of unprecedented synergy, more than 60 Artist-Endowed Foundations have joined together to fund AEFI’s 12-month research, professional education, and feasibility and planning project Increasing the Artist-Endowed Foundation Community’s DEAI Capacity to Host BIPOC Internships/Fellowships.

This exciting manifestation of shared collegial concern and vision fulfills the intention of the project’s fundraising goal, which is to secure support from numerous foundations of all ages, scale of resources, programmatic focus, and geographic location, across the AEF community. Thus, the project cannot be perceived as an initiative forwarded by a few well-endowed and well-intentioned foundations; rather it belongs to the AEF community as a whole. And the group of AEFs funding the project includes foundations at all points on the spectrum of self-education around the topic of effective practice with respect to DEAI and hosting BIPOC internships/fellowships, demonstrating a generous willingness to engage with colleagues wherever the conversation needs to begin.

Warmest thanks to the board and staff members of the following AEFs (list complete as of January 1, 2022; several key proposals currently are pending):

Tee and Charles Addams Foundation

The Josef and Anni Albers Foundation

Andrews-Humphrey Family Foundation

Artists’ Legacy Foundation

The Alvin Baltrop Trust

Romare Bearden Foundation

Harry Bertoia Foundation

Museo Eduardo Carrillo

Dale and Leslie Chihuly Foundation

Corita Art Center

Cruz-Diez Foundation

Jaime Davidovich Foundation

Dedalus Foundation

The Jay DeFeo Foundation

The Destina Foundation & The Dorothea Tanning Foundation

Richard Diebenkorn Foundation

The Easton Foundation

Ellis-Beauregard Foundation

Shepard and Amanda Fairey Foundation

The Feitelson/Lundeberg Art Foundation

Sam Francis Foundation

Andrea Frank Foundation

Helen Frankenthaler Foundation

John Giorno Foundation

Arshile Gorky Foundation

Adolph and Esther Gottlieb Foundation

Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts

Nancy Graves Foundation

Renee and Chaim Gross Foundation

The Guston Foundation

Harpo Foundation

Al Held Foundation

Robert and Adele Irwin Foundation

Ree and Jun Kaneko Foundation

The Mike Kelley Foundation for the Arts

Kinkade Family Foundation

The Willem de Kooning Foundation

Roy Lichtenstein Foundation

Frauke and Willem de Looper Foundation for the Arts

Lucid Art Foundation

Sam and Alfreda Maloof Foundation for Arts and Crafts

The Wolf Kahn and Emily Mason Foundation

Emily Mason | Alice Trumbull Mason Foundation

LeRoy Neiman & Janet Byrne Neiman Foundation

Niki Charitable Art Foundation

The Gordon Parks Foundation

Milton Resnick and Pat Passlof Foundation

The Irving Penn Foundation

Joyce Pensato Foundation

Noah Purifoy Foundation

The Dorothea and Leo Rabkin Foundation

The Mel and Leta Ramos Family Foundation

Rebuild Foundation

Deborah Remington Trust for the Visual Arts

Reversible Destiny Foundation

George Rickey Foundation

Herb Ritts Foundation

The James Rosenquist Foundation

Carolee Schneemann Foundation

Leon Polk Smith Foundation

Star of Hope Inc.

The Hedda Sterne Foundation

Lenore Tawney Foundation

The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts

Woodman Family Foundation

Wyeth Foundation for American Art

Foundations that did not have the opportunity to receive a proposal to support the project and are interested in doing so should feel free to contact the AEFI Project Director at: [email protected].