Around the Institute

Apply for the 2014 Resolve Award

October 10, 2013


10 October 2013

Dear Colleagues,

We are delighted to announce that nominations are now open for the 2014 Resolve Award. Now in its third year, the Resolve Award honors nations that are implementing innovative and scalable approaches to advance universal access to reproductive health.  This year, we encourage nominations that have a focus on adolescents.

This highly competitive, non-monetary award is granted by the Global Leaders Council for Reproductive Health. Chaired by Joy Phumaphi, former vice president of the World Bank Human Development Network, the Council is a group of seventeen world leaders that works to mobilize the political will and financial resources necessary to achieve universal access to reproductive health. The Council celebrates national leaders who are moving the needle in access to reproductive health, in hopes that other leaders will follow in their footsteps.

Given your work on reproductive health, we urge you to consider submitting a brief nomination to recognize a country for its achievements. Information and application forms are available online at, or you can download the brochure and application forms directly. We are looking for countries whose policymakers have implemented:

  • Innovative action, or breakthrough approaches
  • Scalable solutions, or solutions with the potential to effect large-scale change in-country
  • Solutions that are broad and equitable

Rwanda, Malawi, Nepal, and Ethiopia received the 2012 Resolve Award, with a special mention presented to Yemen. In 2013, Resolve awardees included The Gambia, Kenya, and Zambia, with a special mention to Sierra Leone. Information about why their nominations were chosen by the Council is available here. Submit a nomination to honor the leaders who’ve fought for change and help them win political will for continued momentum!

Nominations can be completed and submitted for the first deadline of 20 December 2013, or the final deadline of 20 January 2014. Winners of the 2014 Resolve Award will be honored by the Council in a special ceremony at the time of the 2014 World Health Assembly, and connected with past winners, press outlets, and donors to share how they have made progress in expanding access to reproductive health.

Additionally, we invite you to spread the word to other governments, civil society organizations, and academic institutions that are in a position to nominate specific countries. Any individual or organization may submit a nomination. Nominators may submit more than one application, and countries may be nominated more than once. Nominations are requested in three categories:

  • Financing: Countries will be recognized for identifying or developing new ways to fund reproductive health services. Examples include: resource pooling; voucher systems; collective health insurance; or leveraging the private sector.
  • Policy Development: Countries working to improve the design and implementation of policies that remove barriers or facilitate progress toward universal access will be recognized. Examples include: adapting or developing a national reproductive health and/or adolescent reproductive health plan; public policy influencing private sector involvement; policies focused on reaching marginalized and/or vulnerable groups.
  • Expansion of service delivery: Countries will be recognized for expanding access to reproductive health services and information. Examples include: workforce expansion; integrated services; community-based distribution of contraceptives; task shifting; youth-friendly pharmacies and services; introducing new service delivery protocols, training curricula, and educational approaches.

We look forward to seeing the applications and to celebrate the progress made by leaders with the resolve to act. Please contact with any questions.