Lifetime Trustees
  • Lifetime Trustees consist of former board members and other prominent individuals who have been elected by a majority of the membership of the board. They are valued consultants to the Board of Trustees, providing advice and historical context for strategic issues facing the organization.

    Berl Bernhard
    Former Partner, DLA Piper

    Keith Berwick
    Chair, The Aspen Institute

    Richard Braddock
    Chairman and CEO, Freshdirect

    William D. Budinger
    Founder, Rodel, Inc.

    Stephen L. Carter
    Professor of Law, Yale University Law School

    Lester Crown
    Vice-Chairman Emeritus, The Aspen Institute
    Chairman Emeritus, Henry Crown and Company

    Tarun Das
    Chairman Emeritus, Aspen Institute India

    William H. Donaldson
    Chairman Donaldson Enterprises

    Sylvia A. Earle
    Founder, Sylvia Earle Alliance/Mission Blue

    David Gergen
    Professor of Public Service, John F. Kennedy School of Government

    Alma L. Gildenhorn
    Honorary Trustee, Kennedy Center

    Gerald Greenwald
    Managing Partner, Greenbriar Equity Group

    Irvine O. Hockaday, Jr.
    Retired President and CEO, Hallmark Cards, Inc.

    Gerald Hosier
    Law Offices of Gerald D. Hosier, Ltd.


    Jérôme Huret
    Former President Institute Aspen France

    William N. Joy
    Partner, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers

    Leonard A. Lauder
    Chairman Emeritus, The Aspen Institute
    Chairman Emeritus, The Estee Lauder Companies Inc.

    William E. Mayer
    Chairman Emeritus, The Aspen Institute
    Founder, Park Avenue Equity Partners

    Olivier Mellerio
    General Partner, Interfinexa

    Hisashi Owada
    International Court of Justice

    Thomas R. Pickering
    Vice Chairman; Hills and Company

    Charles Powell
    Member of the House of Lords

    Lynda Resnick
    Co-Owner and Vice Chair, The Wonderful Company

    Lloyd G. Schermer
    Retired Chairman & CEO, Lee Enterprises

    Carlo Scognamiglio
    Honorary Chairman, Aspen Institute Italia

    Andrew L. Stern
    Ronald O. Perelman Senior Fellow, Columbia University

    Alice Young, Esq.
    Founder, Alice Young Advisory LLC