Trustees Emeriti
  • Trustee Emeriti consists of former board members and other prominent individuals who have been elected by a majority of the membership of the board. They are valued consultants to the Board of Trustees, providing advice and historical context for strategic issues facing the organization.

    Berl Bernhard
    Former Partner, DLA Piper

    Keith Berwick
    Chair, The Aspen Institute

    Richard Braddock
    Chairman and CEO, Freshdirect

    Stephen L. Carter
    Professor of Law, Yale University Law School

    Cesar R. Conde
    Chairman, NBCUniversal News Group

    Tarun Das
    Chairman Emeritus, Aspen Institute India

    L. John Doerr
    Partner, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers

    William H. Donaldson
    Chairman Donaldson Enterprises

    Sylvia A. Earle
    Founder, Sylvia Earle Alliance/Mission Blue

    Henry Louis Gates, Jr. 
    Professor, Alphonse Fletcher University
    Chair, Department of African and African American Studies at Harvard University

    David Gergen
    Professor of Public Service, John F. Kennedy School of Government

    Alma L. Gildenhorn
    Honorary Trustee, Kennedy Center

    Gerald Greenwald
    Managing Partner, Greenbriar Equity Group

    Irvine O. Hockaday, Jr.
    Retired President and CEO, Hallmark Cards, Inc.

    Jérôme Huret
    Former President Institute Aspen France

    William N. Joy
    Partner, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers

    Olivier Mellerio
    General Partner, Interfinexa

    Hisashi Owada
    International Court of Justice

    Thomas R. Pickering
    Vice Chairman; Hills and Company

    Charles Powell
    Member of the House of Lords

    Lloyd G. Schermer
    Retired Chairman & CEO, Lee Enterprises

    Carlo Scognamiglio
    Honorary Chairman, Aspen Institute Italia

    Andrew L. Stern
    Ronald O. Perelman Senior Fellow, Columbia University

    Vin Weber
    Former United States Representative
    Chairman, National Endowment for Democracy
    Co-director of the Policy Forum, Humphrey Institute at the University of Minnesota