Business School

Announcing the 2014 Aspen Institute Faculty Pioneer Awards

September 24, 2014

Above, watch a video featuring one of this year’s Faculty Pioneer Award winners, Ryan Cabinte. Cabinte is the associate dean of the MBA/MPA dual degree program in Sustainable Management at Presidio Graduate School. 

Dubbed “the Oscars of the business school world” by the Financial Times, the Aspen Institute Faculty Pioneer Awards celebrate educators who demonstrate leadership and risk-taking — and blaze a trail toward curriculum and scholarship that deeply examines the relationships between capital markets, firms, and the public good.

Today, we announce the winners of this year’s Awards, and all of them share one trait: they’ve developed innovative ways to teach graduate-level business school students how government and business can work together to solve problems and create opportunities.

Surprisingly, these lessons are too rarely taught in business schools today, notes Claire Preisser, the manager of the Faculty Pioneer selection process.

Too much of business education is based upon the outdated notion that business and government are working at divergent purposes,” Preisser said. “It’s important to honor those Faculty Pioneers who are challenging this idea and showing business students how to maximize the contributions of both sectors.
— Claire Preisser, Senior Program Manager, Aspen Institute Business and Society Program

This year’s honorees are:

Mary Margaret Frank, associate professor and academic director of the Institute for Business in Society at the University of Virginia Darden Graduate School of Business (watch a trailer video of Professor Frank’s course, “National Debt Seminar”);

Ryan D. Cabinte, associate dean of the MBA/MPA program at Presidio Graduate School (watch a trailer video of Professor Cabinte’s course, “Market Failure and the Regulatory Environment”)

“Rising Star” Ishtiaq Pasha Mahmood, associate professor at the National University of Singapore


Finalists for this year’s Faculty Pioneer Awards are:

  • Anat R. Admati, George G.C. Parker professor of finance and economics at the Stanford Graduate School of Business at Stanford University
  • Tim Johnson, assistant professor of public management and public policy at the Atkinson Graduate School of Management at Willamette University
  • Andrew A. King, professor of business administration at the Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth College
  • John F. Mahon, Murphy chair and professor of management at the Maine Business School at the University of Maine
  • Barry M. Mitnick, professor of business administration and of public and international affairs at the Katz Graduate School of Business at the University of Pittsburgh

Syllabi from the courses taught by these faculty and additional details about their approach to teaching are available at

Faculty Pioneer Award winners and finalists will be recognized at a ceremony in New York on October 16th, as part of a symposium on business education organized by the Aspen Institute Business and Society Program and hosted at the Ford Foundation. The symposium will focus on how business schools can most effectively prepare students to lead companies in ways that produce a vibrant economy for all. There will be a particular emphasis on responsible sourcing, exceptional employment practices, and the roles of the public and private sectors in value creation and problem solving.

Sixty-four professors have been named Faculty Pioneer Award winners since the honor was established in 1999. Please join us in congratulating our 2014 Award winners and finalists. We are proud to recognize their achievements and share the course curriculum and pedagogies of these academics with our global network of faculty, deans, and business practitioners.

Full biographies of this year’s award winners and finalists can be found on our website, Additionally, a list of past award winners is available online. For more information about the 2014 selection criteria, please read the Call for Nominations.